Syllable Split

To secure the knowledge that syllables are parts of spoken and written words

Magic Belt Series Reading Books

Phonic Books


The Magic Belt series comprises 12 beautifully illustrated books which take Zak on a quest to find 10 magical gems to help cure his grandfather.

This action-packed quest story with fabulous illustrations takes the reader from CVC and CVCC word level text through to consonant digraphs including suffixes -ed and -ing.  A valuable resource for older beginner readers.

  • Book 1: cvc, cvcc
  • Book 2: cvcc
  • Book 3: cvcc
  • Book 4: ccvc and ‘ed’
  • Book 5: ccvcc
  • Book 6: ‘ch’ and ‘tch’
  • Book 7: ‘sh’
  • Book 8: ‘th’
  • Book 9: ‘ck’ and ‘qu’
  • Book 10: ‘ng’
  • Book 11: ‘wh’ and ‘ing’
  • Book 12: ‘le’

*Price includes GST and excludes postage.

View our Phonics Books Progression Chart.

An introductory workbook is available to prepare the older, ‘catch-up’ pupil for reading the Magic Belt Series. Aimed at children with weak sound/letter knowledge it introduces the sounds and letters of the alphabet through a variety of activities (50 pages).

workbook is also available that complements the 12 stories in the Magic Belt Series and follows the same phonic progression. The book is photocopiable. The activities include word building, blending, spelling and comprehension work. (190 pages).


This product has been added to your cart