Syllable Split

To secure the knowledge that syllables are parts of spoken and written words

That Dog! Reading Books

Phonic Books


Ben has always wanted a dog. One day a scruffy stray follows him home. Will he get to keep him?

The That Dog! Series are engaging texts suitable for students in their tweens and teens. These exciting, age-appropriate tales take the pupils from CVC and CVCC word level text through to adjacent consonants, consonant digraphs and suffixes. This series shares the same phonic progression as the Magic Belt Series and can be used in parallel.

Includes 12 decodable books for ‘catch-up’ pupils who are reading at CVC level.

  • Book 1: cvc, cvcc
  • Book 2: cvcc
  • Book 3: cvcc
  • Book 4: ccvc and ‘ed’
  • Book 5: ccvcc
  • Book 6: ‘ch’ and ‘tch’
  • Book 7: ‘sh’
  • Book 8: ‘th’
  • Book 9: ‘ck’ and ‘qu’
  • Book 10: ‘ng’
  • Book 11: ‘wh’ and ‘ing’
  • Book 12: ‘le’

*Price includes GST and excludes postage.

View our Phonics Books Progression Chart.

A workbook is available that is linked to the stories of the That Dog! Series. The workbook includes word-building, reading, spelling, punctuation and comprehension activities. Follows the same Phonic Progression as the books. (225 pages).


This product has been added to your cart