Syllable Split

To secure the knowledge that syllables are parts of spoken and written words

Talisman Series 1 Reading Books

Phonic Books


10 book set

Zak’s adventures begin when his Grandpa gives him a talisman with special powers. From this day on, Zak’s life is never the same again.

The Talisman Series 1 is aimed at older readers with poor knowledge of vowel spellings and covers a recap of alternative vowel spellings covered in Totem and Alba with additional vowel spellings for new vowel sounds.

Age-appropriate quest stories with fabulous illustrations ensure that the reader remains engaged throughout this series.

Special features have been included to engage but also to facilitate access to text and develop confident, independent reading strategies:

  • Age-appropriate illustrations and story lines that engage and encourage the pupil to read on
  • Reading practice page which prepares the pupil for reading the text
  • Vocabulary page to develop receptive and expressive language
  • Multi-syllabic words split on each page
  • Reader-friendly layout

*Price includes GST and excludes postage.

This series is accompanied by a spiral bound photocopiable workbook containing reading, spelling and comprehension activities for each of the books. (150 pages).

View our Phonics Books Progression Chart.


This product has been added to your cart