Syllable Split

To secure the knowledge that syllables are parts of spoken and written words

Amber Guardians Series – City of Secrets

Phonic Books


A chance discovery of an ancient necklace soon leads Finn and his friends on an incredible quest.

The Amber Guardians Series is aimed at pupils needing to build reading stamina.

These ten books bridge the gap between the structured reading series and mainstream reading.

Each of the exciting 26-page stories in this quest series is carefully written to motivate older readers and build reading stamina. 

With a higher ratio of text to illustration, these stories allow the reader to make the important step towards understanding meaning purely from text.

Special features have been included to engage but also to facilitate access to text and develop confident, independent reading strategies:

  • Age-appropriate illustrations and story lines that engage and encourage the pupil to read on
  • Reading practice page which prepares the pupil for reading the text
  • Vocabulary page to develop receptive and expressive language
  • Multi-syllabic words split on each page
  • Reader-friendly layout

Workbook: The series also has an accompanying workbook which introduces a range of suffixes, prefixes and root words. 

*Price includes GST and excludes postage.

View our Phonics Books Progression Chart.


This product has been added to your cart